question about genetics

Jeff876533

Jeffrayy
hey ok i was looking on paul sages website (great leos by the way :) ) and one of the blizzards says 66% het. So does this mean that 66% of the offspring will be blizzard? if not, what does it mean? sorry if its a stupid question, like ive said before, im just starting out on genetics

Jeff876533

Jeffrayy
i know but what exactly does het mean? does it mean like if it does breed, 66% of the hatchlings will physically look like a blizzard?**edit** o i think i know what it is now! lol so does it mean the hatchlings will have a 66% chance of looking like a normal?

Last edited:
T

TripleMoonsExotic

It means every gecko from a het to het pairing has a 66% possible chance of being het for the recessive mutation in question.

Example:

het Albino (1 allele) x het Albino (1 allele)
=
Albino (2 alleles)
&
Normals 66% possible het (1 allele) Albino
offspring

66% het is used because statistically 66% of the normal offspring should be het for the recessive mutation.

Fixed my boo-boo! :) That's what I get for posting in a rush during break time!

Last edited by a moderator:

gko reptiles

A New Generation
First of all, het means that the gene for whatever recessive quality is present, but it is not expressed. Umm... look up Gregor Mendel's pea plant experiment, this should help you out with the explination that I'm about to provide! :) 66% het is an annoying term! Fortunately, Phillip and I were so mad about it one night, that we sat down and figured it out! Ok... so here we go... (pay attention... it gets kind of confusing!)

66% het means... (We'll use albino for example because it's an easy on/off recessive.)