Need help with genetics

hawkesa1

Hello, I'm new here and new to breeding. I have a female pastel radar and a male murphy's patternless carrot tail leopard gecko. I am also new to genetics, so If i breed them together I'm trying to figure out what I'll get. I need some help from someone who really understands genetics and/or has been breeding leopard geckos a lot. Thank you!

acpart

Geck-cessories
Staff member
It's late at night for me so I'm not going to provide a full answer. To make a start on this, be sure you understand the terms "dominant" "recessive" "co-dominant" and "line-bred" or "polygenetic". Here's an article that will help you get started on this:
Once you have the terms figured out, be aware that the murphy's patternless is recessive,
The Radar is a combination of Bell Albino (recessive) and eclipse (recessive)
The pastel and carrot tail are line bred

If you can put all that together, you'll be able to figure out what you have and if you can do it on your own, it will be much more fulfilling and useful than someone just telling you what you'll get.

Aliza

hawkesa1

Thank you! I have been trying to find on the internet if a lizard can be "het" to more than one morph. I drew it out but I don't know if it's accurate.

N = normal
mp = murphey's patternless
r = radar
e = eclipse

Sorry if my writing is hard to read:

0-1.jpg

acpart

Geck-cessories
Staff member