Mealworm suppliers?

Val

We are looking for a new mealworm supplier after the last bad incident with our current company. We've looked a few places and many of them have crazy over night prices and unfortunately due to the heat here, we have to have them overnighted. We have it narrowed down to a few that seem to have the best prices, but that doesn't say anything about the quality of the worms which is obviously the most important to us. Have any of you ever ordered from Grubco, Sunshine Mealworms, or Flukers? And if so what has your experience been with quality of the feeders and also customer service? Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated as well! Thanks :)

PaulSage

I'm baaaaaack!
I have been ordering mealworms from NY Worms for several months now. I've never had a problem with them, but in extreme cold/heat, they're shipped to the post office and I have to pick them up. I believe most of their prices include shipping (I was always getting 10,000 at a time for about $47 I think).

I've tried ordering from Sunshine, but my emails always bounce back so I gave up on them.

I received my first order from Grubco last week. I had ordered 2000 superworms and 100,000 mealworms. Despite the heat, they shipped them UPS 2-day and the order did not arrive until after 5:30. The supers were fine, but all of the mealworms were dead. They did issue me a refund after I spoke with them on the phone though, but they don't refund shipping charges. I asked whether or not overnight shipping was an option, but they told me that it would be an additional $39 PER BOX. For a 6-box order, that's a little nuts.

So, for right now (until my colonies start producing faster) I'm going to stick with NY even if it means placing an order every week.

acpart

Geck-cessories
Staff member