"general leo care" should have sticky

nats

I notice new folks always asking the same questions regarding basic leo care such as housing, heating, etc. and members keep providing the same answers.
I think these redundent posts are a strain on the forum.
Wouldnt it be better to have some stickies for these general questions?
I know there are several "care" sheets and other instructions all of the net for anyone who has the inclination to search for. But they dont!
I put together a post called "how to receive your new leo" intended for the complete newbie, but now it's buried somewhere, and no one will ever see it again.
I would be happy to help out and write up some general care and husbandry stuff if I knew it would be a sticky and not get lost in the hundreds of posts.
What do you think?

Mel&Keith

Mod Squad Member
It seems like it would be a good idea but many members post before they look around. There are over 20 stickies in the Announcements section by the administration here that must not get looked at very often. One of those stickies asks that members utilize the Search function. Marcia's Slurry recipe is a sticky at the top of the Health and Medications section but people still ask where to find it.

nats

LOL!! yes, I noticed.
Lots of folks asking about the recipe and it's right there in front of them.
Also, allot of folks refuse to use the search function.

All I am saying is, if you had a sticky labeled in bold type at the head of the forum menu, folks would probably use it.

If you deleted all the redundant posts like, "how big a tank should I get", "do they need a UVB", "what kind of substrate should I use", etc members would be able to navigate through the forum faster.

You could have for example, in the general husbandry area, a sticky on top (in bold type) that says " Basic leopard gecko care for newbies" or "Basic housing do's and dont's for newbies", etc.