HOT TOPIC! Eclipse Gene/Abyssinian

Is Eclipse and Abyssinian a different trait or one in the same?

post your opinions and post your findings if you have bred these traits. Please be respectful and know everyone has an opinion.

In my humble opinion Abyssinian is nothing more then an eclipse without the eye pigment. As you can breed eclipse and get Abyssinian. Also you breed two Abyssinian you will get eclipse.

Eclipse at one time use to be thought to be a weird trait. i was told at one time if you breed eclipse to eclipse sometimes you will get non eclipse animals. Now today we know that is now true and that sometimes the animal does not have the eye pigment.

acpart

Geck-cessories
Staff member
I am just getting started with eclipses this year. I bred a het eclipse to another het to prove out the trait (yes, they are both het) and then bred an eclipse 50% het tremper to a tremper to prove out the albino (yes, she's het albino). Interestingly, I got a number of albino snake eyes from this pairing and one with eyes so dark I thought it was an eclipse until it got a little bigger.

I've had no experience with Abyssinians, but did read this definition on Ron Tremper's website:
Definition of an Abyssinian = A paradox leopard gecko that has red vein lines in the eyes and that can express every color on the body except for black pigment. Adults have a speckled tail and often a very faded look. Some people might classify this morph as a type of albino as seen in hooked-billed birds.