Don't laugh at me, I got bitten...

gothra

Happy Gecko Family
on the mouth...

bite.jpg

This is my first time getting a real bite after keeping leos for 7 years...the most scary part is he will not let go! Ok, here is what happened:

I was playing with Bubu and he sat on my sleeve for some time. When I put him back, I saw Hardee climbing glass waiting to be held, so I picked him up. He climbed up my arm and then just sat there, didn't move. I thought he was picking up heat, so I put my head down try to give him a kiss. And without any sign, he turned around REAL quick and snapped.

If I was holding Marly or SiuFu, or anyone else, I'll be more careful. But Hardee is the sweetest boy, he's almost like a baby wanting to be held everytime I walk in the room; he is the last candidate that I think will do such a thing.

When he locked his jaws on my lip, I have one hand holding his body firmly; eventhough he didn't let go, I didn't feel too much pain. But after 5-6 minutes, he still showed no sign of letting go, so I have to try other methods. I let him stand on my other hand, and let go the hand that was holding him. A VERY BAD move!! As soon as I let go the hand, he did the crocodile death roll!! And he put a lot more force to the bite!

We kinda stayed in that situation for a few more minutes; he "refreshed" his bite several times (by opening his mouth slightly then bite down again even harder). I catched the moment, and pulled him off quickly. Not a good idea either, the pulling off caused a bigger wound than before...but anyway, I finally got him off my lip.

After some thinking, I understood what caused him to attack me. Hardee went to the part of my sleeve where Bubu had been sitting on. He probably picked up the smell of another male and got scared, therefore he didn't move (and I thought he's enjoying the heat on my arm...). When I put my head down, he probably thought I'm the male, and so launched at me.