Moorish-Crested Gecko Cross Breed?

P

Plastikman01

I have a Crested, Moorish and Fan-Footed Gecko in one terrarium who all get along just fine.

When I woke up this morning, there was an egg next to the water dish! I’m suspecting that the Crested Gecko laid the egg and mated with the Moorish since the fan footed is so small.

Has anyone ever heard of a Crested Gecko breeding with a different species? I will incubate the egg by following my gecko books, but any advice/tips would be much appreciated since I have never done this before!

Tony C

Wayward Frogger
I have heard of crested x chahouha hybrids, but I doubt that a crested x moorish cross would yield viable offspring, as they are not only in different genera, but also different subfamilies, making them fairly distant relatives. Regardless of who laid the egg, I would separate each gecko into it's own enclosure, they require different conditions and have different temperaments, eventually you will run into trouble keeping them together.

darkridder

Melissa the Scientist
female cresties will lay eggs even without a male around so the likely hood of her cross breedig with a completely different species (is more likely to happen with a member of the rhac species) is seriously small.

P

Plastikman01

I have had the same 3 geckos in the same terrarium for over 2 years now and never had this happen before... Doesn't the gecko need to mate with another in order to lay eggs? If so, the crestie mated with either the Moorish or the fan footed.

darkridder

Melissa the Scientist